cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Member I

2018 Mileage Deductions for W2 Delivery Drivers

I'm a part time delivery driver for Waitr.

I am a W2 employee paid $5 hourly + Tips.
Waitr reimburses no mileage expenses.

Can I still claim mileage as a deduction on business miles since the itemized deductions have been eliminated. Yes or No?

I've done plenty of delivery and courier jobs over the years, but I have always been a 1099. This is the first year I am working a job with a W2 status and driving my own vehicle from work, and I keep getting different answers from everyone that I ask about mileage deductions for 2018 and beyond, and I am having a hard time interpreting the new tax reform.

I am aware I cannot claim to mileage to and from work, so this year in my mileage log I have been starting my log book when I reach the boundary of my company's delivery zone, and finishing that mileage log when I am leaving the zone at the end of my shift.

Could someone please enlighten me a little bit?

7 Comments
Catalyst V

As a W-2 employee, Starting Jan 1 2018 you will have no claim to mileage on your personal car used in your employment by a business you do not own, as an itemized deduction on SCH A. https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/n-18-42.pdf  So if  your employer reimburses you on a per-mile basis, that reimbursement amount is included in box 1 of your W-2 and is taxable income.

Member I

Thank you for the response, Carl.

A coworker was told by H&R Block that she could claim mileage, but only if the car was used for business and nothing else. Another coworker was told by his accountant that he could claim mileage or the standard deduction, which has been true for 1099s, but not W2s, even prior to the tax reform. There is so much misinformation at my workplace, and management just keeps telling us that it's our job to do our own research.

Catalyst V