cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor I

tax for two buisnesses I am self employed but have started renting out our other home on airbnb

I am an artist and do bespoke finishes but have started running our other property on airbnb. Do I amalgamate all my expenses for both businesses together? do I total up all income and divide expenses? 

1 Comment
Catalyst V

tax for two buisnesses I am self employed but have started renting out our other home on airbnb

Sure wish it was a simple answer. But I have to start with those dreaded two words, "it depends".  (sigh)

If on the rental side you are providing recurring services, that makes the income from the AirBnB rental "earned" income that is reported on SCH C. So what are recurring services? Those are basically services you provide to tenants on a recurring basis. For example, do you include breakfast in what you charge for the room and do you provide that breakfast? If so, that's a recurring service.

Do you provide room service (morning bed making, and/or evening bed turndown service) on a recurring basis? That too is a recurring service.

So if you provide recurring services to your tenants you are basically operating like a hotel. Therefore that is earned income and is reported on SCH C.  Now you "can" report the income from both businesses on one SCH C, but because the two businesses are not "like kind" I do not recommend it. You should report each business on their own separate SCH C as a part of your personal 1040 tax return.

Now for the other side of that coin. If you do not provide recurring services to your tenants on a somewhat regular basis, then that AirBnB income is passive rental income. You report that on SCH E as a part of your personal tax return also. It's passive, because all you do is "sit there" and collect rental income. You don't go out and "do something" to earn it.